Saylor has wanted a phone for quite awhile, and he's finally got one. We started him out with a regular voice/texting phone. He was satisfied with that, had a groovy little gadget, touch screen HTC. The more I thought about it, though, I found myself thinking that if he wanted to take "XYZ" class or whatever, we'd gladly pay $25/month for it. So, why wouldn't we pay $25/month for him to have a smart phone?
No good reason. I'm glad I examined that little voice in the back of my head that was saying... "but, he's only 12, what does he need a smart phone for? it's so much money... blah, blah, blah, blah, blah."
Yep. I pulled that voice out into the light, and stared it straight in the eye. It didn't have much to say back. He and I went down to upgrade that morning. He's waiting on his HTC Inspire to arrive in the mail. Should be here tomorrow or the next day. It's fun to watch him get excited about it. He loves to text his friends, and he's always been a gadget kid, so this is absolutely something he will use a WHOLE, whole bunch.